MY GOALS FOR 2017

Good morning, everyone! A new year has started, and I’m already looking forward to what it could bring. As I mentioned recently, I’m working on a new science-fiction adventure. Other than that, I’ve published three other books. The first one, Dream Date, was released in 2014. That remains my only series so far. I have hopes of continuing it, but that’s unfortunately not in the plans at the moment.

I haven’t written a post like this before. Planning for the year is not something I usually do, not really. Sure, I do plan certain things in my head. I just don’t put it on a list, though. I’m not really an agenda kind of guy. I wanted to share my goals for the year, though. In no particular order:

1. Publish my current work in progress. At the moment, I’m writing a sci-fi book currently titled Project Obsidian. It’s not finished yet, though. And I’m still debating whether to publish it as I have my other books, or to release it as a serial. The story (what I’ve completed so far) lends itself to being divided into episodes. It would also allow me to release the first few episodes without having finished the last few ones. That seems risky, but I think it’s doable. I’ll see how it goes.

2. Improve my French skills. Late in 2015, I started learning French. I went slow at first, but eventually I learned more words as I progressed further. By now, I’m really good at understanding French. There are several words I still don’t catch, though. And I haven’t practiced speaking the language much. When 2017 ends, I want to be able to handle intermediate conversations with French speakers. The tricky part will be finding them, since I live in a place where foreign languages are not very popular.

3. Advance my career goals. Writing is my only job at the moment. I’m not employed anywhere, though I’m actively looking. Because of this, my current WIP (Project Obsidian) could be delayed. I love writing, though I can’t focus on it as much as I want if I’m not making an income. I didn’t become an author for the money, but it’s still an important aspect. I may be forced to put my writing career on hiatus if I don’t find a job soon. Time will tell what happens.

4. Increase my print book collection. This is a more minor goal. I’m an avid reader, so I have several books. Most of them are on my Kindle, though. It’s not that I don’t like print books. Ebooks are just cheaper, which is great because I get through a LOT of books in a year. In the last four years, my book count has increased to over 300. Barely 100 of them are in print. I want to change that this year.

Those are my main goals for 2017. I debated whether to include a few others, such as becoming more well-known as an author. I don’t quite want fame, but it’s necessary in this business. Also, I considered picking up another language (Polish). I’d rather not have it slow down my learning of French, though. Maybe I’ll leave it for later. Polish is just pretty cool, though. And as a Slavic language, it’s much different from all three of my current languages, which are derived from Latin. I’m also intrigued by how written Polish is phonetic (words sound exactly as they are written).
Anyway, that’s it for today. Have a good first month of the year!

3 thoughts on “MY GOALS FOR 2017

  1. you’re the first person I see that has a buy-more-books goal 😛

    And good luck with learning Polish! I’d love to have a person that I could recommend books to :D. We have so many great fantasy writers and so few of them were translated into English.

    • Hi, Magini. Yeah, I’d like more books. I don’t have many in paper, but on Kindle I have loads. And as for Polish…I doubt I’ll start learning it this year. Not unless someone told me learning Polish wouldn’t slow down my learning of French. I’m still an advanced beginner.

Leave a Reply

