2016 SO FAR: MY UPCOMING WORK

Halloween’s already around the corner. Everyone else is already looking forward to it, buying costumes and sweets. My family and I don’t celebrate it, though. I just use it as an excuse to wear a costume. I don’t have one this year, at least not now. Maybe I’ll buy one after I publish this post.

As far as work is concerned, I’ve been writing as often as I could. I admittedly had a short writing slump a few months ago, though. Besides, most of my time was spent planning. I wanted to publish a new book this year, but I canceled one I was writing early on. That one is not Dream Date #3. I’m not sure when I’ll revisit that series, but I would really like to. For now, I’m focused on the sci-fi genre. I’m working on a new book dealing with advanced technology and genetics. The special thing about this one is that it will most likely be released as a serial. I think that format would be fitting for this story. A weekly serial would be too slow, though, so I’m looking at releasing episodes at least twice a week.

My upcoming book would not just be my first to be released as a serial. It’ll also have an ensemble cast of characters. There’s a main protagonist, but a few other major characters will have roles too large for them to be mere supporting characters. They’ll all be pitted against a common enemy whose identity will be unknown at first. And if a team against one enemy sounds like too easy odds, there’s power in play. All in all, I’m excited for this book. I can’t wait to see it finished.

I don’t yet know when to release the first chapter of my new book. Right now, I’m shooting for around February. I haven’t decided on a final title, either. For now, I’m calling it Project Obsidian. Since the book is sci-fi, it is set decades from now. To be specific, the story will take place in 2035-2036. That’s around twenty years in the future, so I’ve had fun coming up with the technology from then. I already did it once with In a Greater Reality, but my new book opened new possibilities.

In addition to my upcoming serial, I hope to release another standard book next year. I’d like to revisit the romance genre, but don’t want to stray too far from sci-fi just yet. So, I have a great idea I want to start working on. And it’ll be a sci-fi romance. That book’s not even in the planning process, so I can’t provide any more information right now. Yeah, it looks like 2017 will be a busy year for me.

To promote Project Obsidian, I’m creating a new Web site. It will be connected to this one, but will be dedicated to the story and characters. That site is where the chapters would be posted. The Obsidian series web site will also have character bios, chapter summaries (as they are published), and other related information. The site will launch next November. Stay tuned for more info!

Leave a Reply

