BOOK REVIEW: SIGNIFICANCE

SIGNIFICANCE (Significance, #1)

Author: Shelly Crane
Published on: June 15, 2011
Genre:
 Contemporary romance, fantasy

Published by: Kiss Me Publications
Formats:
E-book, paperback, Audible

Maggie is a seventeen year old girl who’s had a bad year. Her mom left, her dad is depressed, she’s graduating, barely, and her boyfriend of almost three years dumped her for a college football scholarship. Lately she thinks life is all about hanging on by a thread and is gripping tight with everything she has.

Then she meets Caleb.

She saves his life and instantly knows there’s something about him that’s intriguing but she is supposed to be on her way to a date with his cousin. But things change when they touch, sparks ignite. Literally. They imprint with each other and she sees their future life together flash before her eyes. She learns that not only is she his soul mate, and can feel his heartbeat in her chest, but there is a whole other world of people with gifts and abilities that she never knew existed. She herself is experiencing supernatural changes unlike anything she’s ever felt before and she needs the touch of his skin to survive. Now, not only has her dad come out of his depression to be a father again, and a pain as well, but Caleb’s enemies know he’s imprinted and are after Maggie to stop them both from gaining their abilities and take her from him. Can Caleb save her or will they be forced to live without each other after just finding one another?

Read the epic love story before the TV show!

REVIEW

The first thing that caught my eye about this book is that it’s supposedly going to be adapted for the screen. So I decided to give it a try. The book was pretty good at first. I thought the author has a pretty good imagination. These days it seems hard to write books about super-powered or gifted characters, and still be original. With all of the superhero movies that have come out, we’ve seen nearly every superpower imaginable. I commend Crane for coming up with superpowers that I haven’t yet seen anywhere else. It would be great to have the one that the father has. I would love to be able to learn stuff that fast. Learning a new language would come in handy.

Unfortunately, things got too sickly-sweet pretty fast. I cringed at the effects that love had on the main characters. It was a bit like the werewolf imprinting in Twilight, but a little sillier. Honestly, I found it somewhat pathetic. If you’re a woman, you’ll most likely enjoy this book. I don’t think this is quite a guy’s cup of tea. What I liked about this book best is the originality of the superpowers. No ripoff from Fantastic Four or anything like that. This is the best I can say about Significance. I also liked Maggie’s fight scene, but there wasn’t much action apart from that.

It’s not that Maggie and Caleb aren’t good characters. I liked them, but I was underwhelmed by how they were used. Apparently, they can’t even be apart from each other without risking death. Literally. Although that sounds cute, it actually turned out lame in my opinion. Not even the villains felt dangerous enough…until after what they did to Maggie. I finished the book only to see if things would improve, but they didn’t. I really like stories about gifted people, but this one was a disappointment. For one, I wish that Maggie and Caleb would stop fighting over who loves the other more. The magical (or maybe just supernatural) community in the book wasn’t that well thought-out either. Like I said, Significance may appeal to you a lot more if you’re female. Guys, there are better choices out there if you’re looking for a good superhero-esque novel.

MY RATING

3StarsNot bad, but you might like it.

goodreads-badge-add

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon  |  Amazon UK  |  Barnes & Noble  |  Kobo

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: SIGNIFICANCE

  1. Thanks so much for taking the time to read SIGNIFICANCE! It’s probably not going to be a guy’s cup of tea, like you said, but I appreciate that you gave it a try 😉 I love when guys read the books. It’s awesome to see what you think. Thanks!

      • Agreed. And no, author’s should be grateful that someone gave their book a chance at all. They can’t be mad that someone didn’t love it. Every book is not for everybody. And it’s totally saccharine. 🙂 That’s kind of what I was going for. All my books are not that way–I’ve written 21–but this series I thought definitely called for super sweet. You should go check out Facebook or Instagram and look for Significance TV Series. This book has been optioned and they start filming the pilot in 3 weeks! I’ve read the pilot script and they have toned down the saccharine epically. lol So no worries there. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

