FIRST WORD ON MY UPCOMING NOVEL

How’s it going, everyone? It’s been some time since I last wrote a post. I did mention once that I’m a novelist, not a blogger, and that my priority is on my creative writing. I have been spending the past month working on a novel I’ve been wanting to write for a while. I started brainstorming it even before publishing Base Duplicity.

Today, I finished writing the last word of the first draft. It comes in at around 80,000 words. I’m thrilled with the way it turned out. It’s not the way I originally envisioned it to be…it became much better. I went through a number of different plots, and I’m happy to say that I chose the best one I could come up with. After writing this book, I’ve found that brainstorming is crucial. You need to gather the proper kind and amount of ingredients before making the dough, to put it that way. Oh, and I can’t wait to reveal the main character. I’m glad to be the one that created it.

As my new project is still in early stages, I’m not going to reveal too much about it. For now, I’m going to refer to it as The Ultimate Unavailable Girl, until further notice. I haven’t yet settled on a final title, but that beta name fits, as the book is a New Adult romance. Now that I’m done with the first draft, I’m going to put it aside for a while before tackling the revisions–or baking the cake, to use the above analogy. That’ll be the interesting (translation: hardest) part. I’ll take a little break before then.
I have other great ideas I’m very eager to start working on. Who knows, maybe I’ll be writing more than one novel this year. I love what I do.

You all have a great day. Now, if you excuse me, I’ll go and celebrate this milestone. I’m not yet sure how to do so, but I’ll think of something. It’ll most likely involve a nice cappuccino and some more reading. Oh, and videogames.

Leave a Reply

